We are happy to announce that forty-one applicants for the WC9 Travel grants for students and young scientists will receive travel support in-kind as waiving of congress fee & 4–5 nights’ accommodation in a hostel. In addition the five best applications will be awarded reimbursement of economy class travel expenses.

To highlight this important activity, a special session has been added to the program of WC9, which is entitled “Session X-1 – Young Scientists Travel Award Short Presentations“. This session will be chaired by Manfred Liebsch (Germany) and Lucia Li (Hong Kong). 10 young scientist have been invited to give oral presentations in Session X-1.

Among the 41 recipients of the WC9 travel grants 23 are from Europe and 18 from overseas.

Funding of the WC9 students’ and young scientists’ travel grants is sponsored in a joint venture by the Alternative Congress Trust Germany and the German Foundation SET.

The organizers of WC9 do also appreciate that the Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments JSAAE is also awarding travel grants to young scientists from Japan to attend WC9.

Dagmar Jírová and Horst Spielmann
WC9 co-chairs

List of awarded applicants:

Anbazhagan Murugadas (Bharathidasan University, India)
Ates Gamze (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)
Bachinski Rober (Fluminese Federal University, Brazil)
Bignon Cécile (University of Nice, France)
Boomkamp Stephanie (University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom)
Burm Saskia (Biomedical Primate Research Centre, The Netherlands)
Carli Bones Vanessa (Federal University of Paraná, Brazil)
Catarino Carolina (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Danov Olga (Fraunhofer ITEM, Germany)
Desmedt Bart (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)
Dietz Lisa (Universiteit Utrecht, The Netherlands)
Fröhlich Johanna (ICET Lab, Australia)
Galbiati Valentina (Unimi, Italy)
Grohmann Lisa (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany)
Hall Laura (University of Stirling, United Kingdom)
Harris Georgina (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
Hasenberg Tobias (Technische Universität Berlin – Medical Biotechnology, Germany)
Hoonakker Marieke (University Utrecht, The Netherlands)
Htwe Su Su (Uniersity of Nottingham, United Kingdom)
Hübner Juliane (Technische Universität Berlin – Medical Biotechnology, Germany)
Huttala Outi (FICAM/University of Tampere, Finland)
Cherkunnath Anees (Indian Veterinary Research Institute, India)
Kanninen Liisa (University of Helsinki, Finland)
Kim Young Wook (University of British Columbia, Canada)
Konzok Sebastian (Fraunhofer ITEM, Germany)
Kwok Eugenia (University of British Columbia, Canada)
Lang Annemarie (Charité University Hospital, Germany)
Luco Dayane (IPEN – Nuclear and Energy Research Institute, Brazil)
Meneses Parga Alejandro (Centro Universitario de la Costa, Mexico)
Miller Amy (Newcastle University, United Kingdom)
Moura Laura (Federal Fluminese University, Brazil)
Rojas Sahagún Víctor Manuel (Universidad de Guadalajara, Mexico)
Sharma Vivek (Save Environment and Welfare of Animals, India)
Schultze Nadin (Ernst Moritz Arndt University of Greifswald, Germany)
Truong Lisa (US EPA, USA)
Uemura Marcelly Tochimi (Federal University of Sao Paulo, Brazil)
van den Bogaard Ellen (Radbourd University Medical Center, The Netherlands)
Veth Jennifer (Biomedical Primate Research Centre, The Netherlands)
Wong Chin Lin (The University of Queensland, Australia)
Zeeshan Mohammed (Bharathidasan University, India)
Zoschke Christian (Freire Universität Berlin, Germany)